Thursday, April 11, 2013

Guest Post: All Access by Karolyn James

I am excited to have Karolyn James with us today. I hope y’all enjoy reading her guest post on her new series, Brothers of Rock, as much as I did:)


All Access (Brothers of Rock, #1)

All Access
Karolyn James
Series: Brothers of Rock #1

Jess is caught off guard when a sexy stranger buys her a cup of coffee and asks her to sit with him. He's mysterious, nice, and even though he says the right things at the right time, Jess can sense that there's something hidden about him.

As Johnnie sits across from the beautiful woman, he can't believe she doesn't recognize him. Everyone does. It comes with the territory when you're the lead singer of one of the hottest bands in the world, Chasing Cross. With one more show to go before taking a small break in touring, it feels like luck is on Johnnie's side. That is, if he can find a way to tell Jess who he is, without scaring her off.

After her best friend begs her to come to a concert, Jess finds herself standing in the middle of a crowd. The lights are off, music begins, and the crowd erupts in cheers. She doesn't know much about the band, but that's all about to change. When the lights come on, Jess can't believe her eyes. The lead singer of the band is the man from the café.

Plucked from the crowd during the show, Jess makes her way backstage. The encore may have ended on stage, but the real show is just about to begin. Johnnie's passion quickly turns to romance but the more time he and Jess spend together, the more things get complicated. Johnnie has a big decision to make about himself and the band, testing his loyalty and love for the music, and when Jess's dreams start to come true, she starts to realize that true love exists, but it's not always an easy path to take.

Guest Post

One of the coolest things that have happened since I started the Brothers of Rock series is the reaction the readers give towards the band. Obviously, the series is about the band, each member of the band receiving their own book to follow their personal journey beyond the stage… life, love, and dealing with pain. That’s what Brothers of Rock is all about. It’s easy to see a band on stage and live within that rockstar dream, but what happens when the stage is empty and the show is over?
The first book in the series, All Access, is now available and follows leading singer (and backup guitarist) Johnnie. He’s the big, strong leader of the band. As the singer, everyone tends to look at him for guidance and support and he takes on almost a fatherly figure in All Access. And even throughout the rest of the series, Johnnie will be there. (As a little preview for the upcoming release of Broken Sound, Johnnie makes and appearance! With Jess!)
Johnnie navigates the band as a leader but keeps his heart open, wanting to band to make decisions and not him. Within All Access, Johnnie faces himself… perhaps for the first time. He has a chance to become his own artist and when he meets Jess, everything changes. It’s his heart at stake now, just his. And that was the fun of writing Johnnie’s story… watching him grow even though he’s the leader of the band.
Now, to compare him to Davey (one of the lead guitarists in Chasing Cross), it’s an entirely different character. In Broken Sound, Davey has to face a past decision and a present situation. A woman shows up with a baby and says Davey is the father. With Chasing Cross on a touring break, Davey has to face the circumstances at hand. As a party hard guitarist, Davey’s left almost out in the cold. What happens next is a personal journey… one where Davey has to reach into his own rough past to make the best decision for the future.
I loved writing Davey because he looks hard on the outside… he looks quiet… focused… but inside, he’s really an open book. Plus, I got to work on the relationship with he and fellow guitarist, Danny (who also happens to be Johnnie’s little brother). It was great to have Davey and Danny playing guitar while talking about life. Just bringing the power of music and life together some more.
The rest of the band will have their books, set for five books to start the series. Broken Sound (Brothers of Rock #2) is due April 25th, 2013. Don’t miss All Access, available now!
About the Author
Karolyn James is the pen name for award winning author, Karolyn Patterson.  This is a different side of Karolyn, one that doesn’t just explore relationships, but the sexuality within those relationships.

1 comment:

  1. I haven't heard of this series at all, but it sound like it could be fun! A handsome stranger in a bar...that's always a good fantasy. ;) Thanks for the guest post!

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden


Thanks so much for the comment love!